South Africa has been announced as the AU chair for 2020

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa looks on as he arrives to deliver his annual State of the Nation address, in the South African Parliament, on February 7, 2019, in Cape Town. (Photo by Rodger BOSCH / AFP)

South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa has been announced as the African Union chairperson for year 2020.

The Presidency says Ramaphosa will take over from Egypt president Abdel Fattah el-Sisi, who is currently serving his term for 2019. Each term as AU chair runs for one year.

Sisi was suspended from the AU five years ago after a coup that unseated former Egyptian leader Mohamed Morsi.

Sisi is today dealing with significant domestic security challenges and is expected to concentrate his presidency on dealing with migration and displaced persons from and within Africa.

While still faced by disapproval, his election to the leadership of the union is now considered as a mark of his full rehabilitation.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.


Exit mobile version