Kenyatta explains border closure against Tanzania, Somalia

Kenya's Former President Mwai Kibaki is Dead (News Central TV)

This handout photo released by the Presidential Service Communication Unit (PSCU) shows Kenya's President Uhuru Kenyatta addressing the nation over the controversial 16 percent fuel tax at State House in Nairobi, on September 14, 2018. (Photo by Handout / HO / KENYAN PRESIDENTIAL SERVICE COMMUNICATION UNIT / AFP / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - MANDATORY CREDIT "AFP PHOTO / Presidential Service Communication Unit (PSCU)" - NO MARKETING NO ADVERTISING CAMPAIGNS - DISTRIBUTED AS A SERVICE TO CLIENTS ---

Kenya on Saturday banned movement across the country’s borders with Tanzania and Somalia to help curb the spread of coronavirus, the president explained.

“There will be a cessation of movement of persons and any passenger-ferrying automobiles and vehicles into and out of the territory of Kenya through the Kenya-Tanzania international border,” President Uhuru Kenyatta said in a televised address.

He exempted cargo trucks but said drivers would have to be tested for COVID-19. The same measures would apply on the border with Somalia, he said.

Kenyatta also extended by 21 days an existing dusk-to-dawn curfew and a ban on movement in and out of areas of Kenya worst hit by the coronavirus outbreak.

“I know there is growing global pressure for easing of measures against this disease and for all of us to get back to normal,” he said.

“We are going to step up our defence by employing stricter, more localised prevention actions”, a Reuters report quoted President Kenyatta.

Kenya first imposed restrictions of movement in and out of the capital Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale on the Indian Ocean coast and Mandera in the northeast in April.

The east African nation has also imposed bans on public gatherings, large funerals and shuttered schools.

Kenya has 830 confirmed cases of the novel coronavirus, with 50 deaths.

Kenyatta said authorities had so far prevented 78 truck drivers from neighbouring countries, including Tanzania and Somalia from entering Kenya after they tested positive for COVID-19.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.


Exit mobile version