Who is the Next Unified World Heavyweight Champion?

Heavyweight champions of the world, Anthony Joshua and Tyson Fury have put pen to paper on a two-match deal that will see Joshua’s three belts and Fury’s one belt all up for the taking.

Joshua currently owns the WBA, IBF and WBO heavyweight titles while Fury owns the WBC heavyweight belt.

The Anglo-Nigerian’s promoter, Eddie Hearn confirmed that the boxers have signed the deal and all that’s left is a venue and date.

A possible June-July date is being proposed while the match may go ahead in the dunes of Saudi Arabia or elsewhere.

Joshua had previously expressed his readiness for the fight as he said he cares less about where the match holds. He said “all I want is fight, fight, fight,”

Joshua and Fury have been mooting a clash for years with their fans calling for the two fantastic pugilists to get into the ring and give the world a boxing masterclass.

The undefeated Fury last dealt with American fighter, Deontay Wilder as the British boxer called on Joshua to lay his belts down for the clash.

Your Friends Also Read:  100 migrants Rescued off Libya’s West Coast

A win for any of the boxers will be the first time a Briton will become the unified heavyweight champion of the world since Lennox Lewis.


Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Algeria Issues Evacuation Orders to Figuig Farmers on its Borders

Next Article

Post-Wits Protests: South African Universities Agree to Keep Fees "Reasonable"

Related Posts