Guinea Remains Closed to Neighbours on African Day of Borders

Guniea is keeping two of its borders closed in what appears to be heightened political isolation. This has exacerbated its economic crisis in the process.

Guinea shares land borders with Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, and Sierra Leone. With its closure, it has limited its participation in this international day to Mali alone.

On September 27, 2020, before the presidential election (Oct. 18th), chief of state Alpha Condé ordered the closure of borders with three of its six neighbors: Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, and Senegal — where the largest Guinean diaspora resides. On reasons for this decision, he cited insecurity.

This prolonged border closure violates a number of international provisions, including the May 29, 1979 protocol from the Economic Community of West African States which guarantees the free movement of people and a right to residence and establishment, of which Guinea is a signatory. In fact, this judiciary tool grants all citizens of these 15 states the right to entry and establishment.

Leave your vote

Previous Article
Interpol Seeks Arrest of Karim Keita, Son of Mali Ex-President

Interpol Seeks Arrest of Karim Keita, Son of Mali Ex-President

Next Article

Mnangagwa Orders ‘Shoot to Kill’ as Robbery Attacks Increase

Related Posts

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.