South Sudan Waives Visa Entry Fees for Ugandans

The government of South Sudan says it is removing entry visa fees for Ugandan citizens entering South Sudan beginning Monday 4th October 2021. 

The announcement came the same day the Ugandan government affected their visa waiver for South Sudan on Friday 1st, October 2021.

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Deng Dau Deng announced at a press conference in Juba on Friday that “In the principle of reciprocity, the Government of the Republic of South Sudan today has directed the Ministry of Interior through its Directorate of Nationality, Passport and Immigration to waive visa entry requirements for the Uganda citizens holding valid passports issued by the government of the Republic of Uganda with effect from 4th, October 2021,”

Your Friends Also Read:  South Sudan's President Kiir Threatens to Exit Rome Talks Over Slain Nuns

The Ugandan Ambassador to South Sudan Ronnie Balya welcomed the move by the government of South Sudan to remove entry visa fees for Ugandan citizens entering the country.

He said, “I want to thank the government of the Republic of South Sudan for this wonderful decision to abolish visa requirements for Ugandans travelling to South Sudan. In reciprocating our similar decision based on guidance by the leadership in the spirit of the East African Community,”

South Sudan’s Inspector General of Police, Majak Akec, says Ugandans and South Sudanese citizens holding other passports will pay visa fees while entering either of the two countries.

Your Friends Also Read:  Machar Denies Deal on Unified South Sudan Forces

“If there will be some Ugandans and South Sudanese entering both South Sudan and Uganda using different or non-passport of South Sudan and Uganda. We will not consider them and they will pay visa fees,” Akec said.

Both Kenya and Uganda have waived visa entry fees for South Sudanese citizens in a bid to implement the decision of the 36th meeting of the Council of Ministers of the East African Community ratifying the protocol on the Free Movement of Persons within the East African region. 

In April 2016, South Sudan joined the East African Community which includes Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Burundi.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.


Previous Article

Burundi Enters Cooperation Agreements with Saudi Arabia

Next Article

Development Partners to Invest $900-million for Tech investments in Africa

Related Posts

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.