Canada Bans Travelers from Nigeria, Egypt and Malawi

Canada on Tuesday banned travelers from Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi over fears of the spread of the new Omicron coronavirus variant, bringing to 10 the number of African countries targeted by Ottawa.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos told a press conference that “Foreign nationals who have transited or stayed in these 10 countries cannot enter Canada if they have been in those countries in the last two weeks,”

The measure takes effect from Wednesday, the government said.

Any Canadians or permanent residents who have been in any of the 10 countries will need to quarantine on arrival and take a COVID test.

Duclos also said “in the coming days,” all air travellers arriving from outside Canada, apart from the United States, will now need to be tested for Covid-19 at their point of entry, and isolated until their test results are available.

Your Friends Also Read:  NC Interview with Oluwaseun Adesoye on Nigerian Stocks

First reported to the World Health Organization less than a week ago after being detected in southern Africa earlier in November, the Omicron variant has appeared in well over a dozen countries, stoking global fears about a coronavirus pandemic that has killed more than five million people and savaged economies worldwide.

“The pandemic is not over,” Transport Minister Omar Alghabra added. “Travel measures could change at any moment.”

Canada on Friday banned entry to all travellers from seven southern African countries: Botswana, Swaziland, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

And on Sunday, Canada confirmed it had detected its first cases of the new Omicron strain, in two people who had travelled recently to Nigeria.

Your Friends Also Read:  IOM Resumes Reintegration Mission From Niger To The Gambia

The WHO warned on Tuesday that travel bans will not prevent the spread of the new variant after some 50 countries put similar measures in place.

Canada has reported a total of 1,791,902 coronavirus cases and 29,681 deaths.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

20 Dead as Boat Capsizes in Kano State, Nigeria

Next Article

South Africa's President Ramaphosa Visits Nigeria

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App