African Union Adopts Swahili as Official Working Language

The African Union (A.U.) has officially adopted Swahili as an official working language. The approval comes following a request by Tanzanian Vice President Philip Mpango, who argued that over 100 million people in Africa speak Swahili, thus becoming one of the most widely spoken languages on the African continent.

The announcement was made in the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

For a long time, African leaders have tried to push for the AU to adopt Swahili as the Pan African language. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) declared July 7 as the World Kiswahili Language Day.

Your Friends Also Read:  Millions of Young South Africans are Without Jobs: What are the Answers?

According to the UN, the language had its origins in East Africa, and Swahili speakers are spread over more than 14 countries: Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), South Sudan, Somalia, Mozambique, Malawi, Zambia, Comoros, and as far as Oman and Yemen in the Middle East.

Southern African countries such as South Africa and Botswana have introduced it in schools, while Namibia and others are considering doing so.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.
Your Friends Also Read:  Sudan's military council, opposition agree on 3-year transition period



Leave a Reply

Previous Article
Libyan Interim PM, Al-Dbeibah Registers Bid for Presidency

Libyan Prime Minister Escapes Assassination Attempt

Next Article

Multiple Casualties as ISWAP, Boko Haram Clash in Lake Chad

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App