Odinga’s Committee Shortlist Eight for Running Mate Slot 

Odinga's Committee Shortlist Eight for Running Mate Slot (News Central TV)

Ahead of the May 16 deadline allowed for political parties to submit the names of their running mates to the IEBC, the panel vetting running mate candidates for Azimio la Umoja One Kenya presidential flag bearer Raila Odinga has settled on eight persons.

The eight persons were selected following a rigorous interview by the seven-member committee set up by Azimio la Umoja coalition presidential flag bearer Raila Odinga. The committee rejected twelve others who applied for the position.

The decision to go through the process of selection came about when the selection of a running mate for Odinga, was becoming a herculean task surrounded by disputes.

Azimio la Umoja presidential flag bearer Raila Odinga

As the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission deadline, May 16 set for submission of names of presidential candidates running mates approach, more than 20 political parties under the Azimio la Umoja coalition party were asked to each submit names of candidates deemed fit to run alongside Odinga.

Following this announcement, interested persons were selected for the purpose, some of which included; Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper leader), Peter Kenneth (former member of parliament), Martha Karua (Narc Kenya leader), Charity Ngilu (National Rainbow Coalition leader), and Peter Munya (Agriculture Minister).

However, when Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka learnt of the intention to carry out an interview, he immediately declined the invitation, describing it as an insult on his person.

Sabina Chege,one of the nominees by Jubilee of President Uhuru Kenyatta

Musyoka, who ran in both the 2013 and 2017 polls alongside Raila, stated that he was fit for the position, and should not be subjected for an interview before given due consideration.

The vetting committee, chaired by former Cabinet Minister Noah Wekesa, will be selecting a running mate for Odinga ahead of the August 9 general elections in Kenya.

The eight shortlisted candidates include: Mr Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper Party), Sabina Chege and Peter Kenneth both nominated by Jubilee of President Uhuru Kenyatta, Martha Wangari Karua (Narc Kenya), Stephen Kipkiyeny Tarus (National Liberal Party), Kanu boss Gideon Moi (Independence Party), Charity Ngilu (Narc),and Ali Hassan Joho (ODM).

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng

Exit mobile version