93 Countries Voted For U.N. to Suspend Russia From UNHRC

The United Nations General Assembly has voted to suspend Russia from the U.N. Human Rights Council.

A United States-initiated resolution that expressed “grave concern at the ongoing human rights and humanitarian crisis in Ukraine” on Thursday received 93 votes in favour and 24 against, with 58 member states abstaining from the process.

After the vote, Russia announced it was quitting the council.

The resolution came after the discovery of civilian bodies in the town of Bucha near Kyiv.

Here is a country breakdown of the General Assembly vote:

Member states that voted in favour of the resolution

A: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria

B: Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria

C: Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Riva, Cote D’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic

D: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic

E: Ecuador, Estonia

F: Fiji, Finland, France

G: Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala

H: Haiti, Honduras, Hungary

I: Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy

J: Jamaica, Japan

K: Kiribati

L: Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg

M: Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Monaco, Montenegro, Myanmar

N: Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway

P: Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal

R: Republic of Korea (South Korea), Republic of Moldova, Romania

S: Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

T: Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu

U: Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Member states that voted against the resolution

A: Algeria

B: Belarus, Bolivia, Burundi

C: Central African Republic, China, Congo, Cuba

D: Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea)

E: Eritrea, Ethiopia

G: Gabon

I: Iran

K: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mali, Nicaragua

R: Russia

S: Syria, Tajikistan

U: Uzbekistan

V: Vietnam

Z: Zimbabwe

Member states that abstained

A: Angola

B: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Egypt, El Salvador

E: Eswatini

G: Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana

I: India, Indonesia, Iraq

J: Jordan

K: Kenya, Kuwait

L: Lesotho

M: Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, Mozambique

N: Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria

O: Oman

P: Pakistan

Q: Qatar

S: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname

T: Tanzania, Thailand, Tongo, Trinidad-Tobago, Tunisia

U: Uganda, United Arab Emirates

V: Vanuatu

Y: Yemen

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng

Exit mobile version