Site icon News Central TV | Latest Breaking News Across Africa, Daily News in Nigeria, South Africa, Ghana, Kenya and Egypt Today.

AFCON’23: CAF Okays Squad List for Nigeria’s Super Eagles

AFCON (News Central TV)

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has confirmed the provisional squad of the Super Eagles of Nigeria towards the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament.

This was disclosed in an announcement by CAF on its website on Wednesday.

The list was submitted by the Super Eagles coach, Jose Peseiro, who is expected to submit his final squad to the CAF before the deadline of January 3.

Three homebased players are on the AFCON list: Obasogie Amas (Bendel Insurance), Christian Nwoke (Sporting Lagos FC), and Ojo Oluwasegun (Enyimba FC).

According to a decision by AFCON’s CAF Organising Committee, all of the 24 countries are permitted to field a final roster of 27 players, which is four more than the initial 23 from previous competitions.

The registration of the four extra players on the final list is optional.

“Meanwhile, a player in the final squad can only be replaced after a serious injury no less than 24 hours before the team’s first match following the approval of the medical certificate by the CAF Medical Committee,” the post on the CAF website said.

The final of the AFCON will be held from January 13 to February 11, 2024, in the Ivorian cities of Abidjan, Bouake, Korhogo, San Pedro, and Yamoussoukro.

Full AFCON squad list of the Super Eagles

Francis Uzoho

Temitayo Aina

Jamilu Collins

Ndidi Wilfred

William Ekong

Ajayi Adesewo

Ahmed Musa

Ogochukwu Onyeka

Victor Osimhen

Ayodele-aribo Oluwaseyi

Samuel Chukwueze

Ademola Lookman

Zaidu Sanusi

Kelechi Iheanacho

Moses Simon

Adebayo Adeleye

Calvin Ughelumba

Alexander Iwobi

Sadiq Umar

Awaziem Collins

Tyronne Ebuehi

Kenneth Omeruo

Ojo Oluwasegun

Akpoguma Ufuoma

Victor Boniface

Onyemaechi Bruno

Samuel Bright

Bonaventure Dennis

Ebere Onuachu

Terem Moffi

Dessers Cyriel

Tella Temitayo

Nwadike Onyedika

Oluwafisayo Dele-Bashiru

Torunarigha Jordan

Alhassan Abdullahi

Kelechi Nwakali’

Christain Nwoke

Stanley Nwabali

Obasogie Amas

Exit mobile version