Benin AFCON Qualifier; Dussuyer calls up new faces

Benin need just a draw in their final 2019 Nations Cup qualifier to book their place in Egypt behind group leaders Algeria
Ivory Coast’s national football team coach Michel Dussuyer looks on during a press conference on January 15, 2017 in Oyem, during the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations football tournament in Gabon. (Photo by ISSOUF SANOGO / AFP)

Benin coach Michel Dussuyer has named four uncapped players in his 23-man squad for their crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against neighbours Togo in Cotonou on 22 March.

The new faces include Belgium based Yannick Aguémon and Club Africain of Tunisia’s Rodrigue Kossi, locally-based Cherif Dine Kakpo and Patrick Sèdjamè who play for local side Buffles have also been handed maiden call-ups.

Huddersfield forward Steve Mounié is included as well as veteran midfielder Jordan Adeoti who leads a cast of nine France-based players named by French coach Dussuyer.

Benin need just a draw in their final 2019 Nations Cup qualifier to book their place in Egypt behind group leaders Algeria who have already qualified.

Your Friends Also Read:  Uganda ends domestic football league over Covid-19 crisis

Benin 23-man AFCON qualifier squad:

Goalkeepers: Fabien Farnolle (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Saturnin Allagbé (Niort, France), Cherif Dine Kakpo (Buffles).

Defenders: Junior Salomon (Plateau United, Nigeria), Olivier Verdon (Sochaux, France), Khaled Adénon (Amiens, France) Moïse Adilehou (Levadiakos, Greece), David Kiki (Red Star, France), Emmanuel Imorou (Caen, France), Rodrigue Fassinou (ASPAC), Seïdou Barazé (Yzeure, France).

Midfielders: Rodrigue Kossi (Club Africain, Tunisia) Jordan Adéoti (Auxerre, France), Patrick Sèdjamè (Buffles), Mama Seibou (SC Toulon, France), Anaane Tidjani (US Ben Guerdane, Tunisia), Cèbio Soukou (Hansa Rostock, Germany). Forwards: Jacques Bessan (MO Bejaïa, Algeria), Steve Mounié (Huddersfield, England), Désiré Sègbè Azankpo (Senica, Slovakia), Jodel Dossou (Vaduz, Switzerland), Yannick Aguémon (OH Louvain, Belgium), David Djigla (Niort, France).

Your Friends Also Read:  FIFA Women's World Cup Trophy set to come to Africa

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Algerian teachers, students protest against Bouteflika

Next Article

Macron visits Ethiopia's Ancient Stone carved churches

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App