Italy, France, Germany disagree with EU’s dirty-money blacklist

The European Commission’s process for developing its list contrasts starkly with FATF’s thorough methodology

The European Union’s blacklisting of 23 countries, including Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Nigeria and Tunisia, over their lax controls over money laundering has been rejected by the United States.

The US Department of the Treasury said that it has significant concerns about the substance of the list and the flawed process by which it was developed. 

The Saudi government said it regretted the decision in a statement published by the Saudi Press Agency.

Finance Minister Mohammed Al-Jadaan was quoted in the report as saying Riyadh’s “commitment to fighting money laundering and terrorism financing is a strategic priority”.

“We will continue to develop and enhance our regulatory framework to achieve this goal,” he said.

Your Friends Also Read:  Gunmen Storm Cameroon School, Kill Eight Children

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) which includes the US, the European Commission, 15 EU member states and 20 other jurisdictions, is the global standard-setting body for combating money laundering, terrorist financing and proliferation financing, it continued.  

The FATF already develops a list of high-risk jurisdictions with Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terror deficiencies as part of a careful and comprehensive process. , continued the US Treasury.

Because of the FATF’s work, virtually all countries around the world are subject to a rigorous peer-review methodology that examines the legal frameworks to counter illicit finance as well as how effectively jurisdictions implement them. 

Your Friends Also Read:  Ghanaian fishermen decry illegal "saiko" practices and declining stocks

These reviews are an intensive process involving careful review of the legal framework, extensive fact-gathering, and onsite visits in which assessors engage in robust, iterative dialogues with assessed jurisdictions. 

The European Commission’s process for developing its list contrasts starkly with FATF’s thorough methodology because it did not include a sufficiently in-depth review, said the Treasury.

Britain, Germany, France and Italy have also strongly objected to the European Commission’s list.

Britain said the list could “confuse businesses” because it diverges from a smaller listing compiled by its FATF.

The FATF was established 30 years ago and includes 38 members, including the European Union and Gulf Cooperation Council. Saudi Arabia became an observer member in 2015.

Your Friends Also Read:  Malian authorities question 'dead' jihadist's video

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

5 Romantic getaways in Africa

Next Article

Charged with "hostility to the homeland", over 150 Cameroonians face the death penalty

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App