Joseph Djogbénou Benin’s President of the Constitutional Court, Resigns

Joseph Djogbenou Benin's President of the Constitutional Court, Resigns (News Central TV)

Former Minister of Justice of Benin Joseph Djogbénou has resigned from the Constitutional Court. A press release from the secretary general of the institution confirmed Djogbénou’s resignation without giving the reasons.  

However, political pundits believe Djogbénou may be resigning ahead of a political decision to run for a legislative office slated for January 8, 2023.

The Constitutional Court is composed of seven members, four of whom are appointed by the Office of the National Assembly and three by the President of the Republic for a term of five years renewable only one time.

Djogbénou is a lawyer at the Benin Bar, a former leader of civil society, moved quickly into politics by taking the honorary presidency of the Citizen Alternative party.

Djogbénou was elected deputy of the seventh legislature and had directed the Commission of the laws. After his time in parliament, he was appointed Minister of Justice and Keeper of the Seals by President Patrice Talon.

Details shortly…

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.


Exit mobile version