Mozambique Elected to Join UN Security Council

Mozambique Elected to Join UN Security Council (News Central TV)
(in the pic – President Zuma and President Nyusi addressing a media conference at the Union Buildings)His Excellency President Fillipe Jacinto Nyusi of the Republic of Mozambique pays his first State Visit to the Republic of South Africa at the invitation of His Excellency President Jacob Zuma. The two countries enjoy a cordial relationship and President Zuma has visited Mozambique twice already this year, first on a State Visit on20 -21 May 2015 and also on the 11th of September where there two Heads of State unveiled the Matola monument in memory of South African martyrs who were killed by the apartheid regime during its infamous raids to neighbouring countries in search of ANC targets.Union Buildings, Pretoria, 22/10/2015, Elmond Jiyane, GCIS

Mozambique has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for a two-year term beginning in January by the United Nations General Assembly.

Ecuador, Japan, Malta, and Switzerland were also elected in the Thursday vote. They will take the place of India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, and Norway.

Mozambique’s President, Filipe Nyusi, has stated that his country will be the voice of African nations seeking to build a peaceful future.

President of Mozambique Felipe Nyusi

“This is a historic moment for the country, a milestone that Mozambique should be proud of. Our country has history. It has the record and experience of advocating conflict mitigation measures and, above all, of promoting negotiated solutions for peace, in this sense, our commitment remains unwavering,” he said in a statement.

Your Friends Also Read:  Ghana Hosts ECOWAS Mid-Year Summit

Mozambique received 192 votes, Ecuador received 190, Japan received 184, Malta received 185, and Switzerland received 187.

Ambassadors applauded after the President of the General Assembly, Abdulla Shahid, read out each country’s name while announcing the results.

The Security Council is made up of 15 countries. China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States are the five permanent members with veto power.

The General Assembly, which is made up of all 193 UN Member States, chooses the 10 non-permanent members who serve two-year terms.

Even if they run unopposed, countries must receive a two-thirds majority, or 128 votes, to secure a seat on the Council.

Your Friends Also Read:  Russia Lifts Suspension on Charter Flights to Egyptian Resorts

Candidates in 2022 vied for five seats under three regional groups: two for African and Asia-Pacific countries, one for Latin America and the Caribbean, and two for Western Europe and other States.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Kenya’s Omanyala Now Africa’s Fastest Man After Win In Mauritius

Next Article
Ondo Massacre: Youths Stage Protest in Owo as Death Toll Surges to 40 (News Central TV)

Ondo Massacre: Youths Stage Protest in Owo as Death Toll Surges to 40

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App