Buhari promises to sign Nigeria up for Africa free trade agreement

The trade deal provides immense opportunities for Nigeria’s manufacturing and service companies to expand to Africa
Buhari promises to sign Africa free trade agreement
ABUJA, NIGERIA – JUNE 29 : President of Nigeria Muhammadu Buhari (C) chairs the 55th Ordinary Session of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Authority of Heads of State and Government in Abuja, Nigeria on June 29, 2019. Adam Abu Bashal / Anadolu Agency

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari will sign the landmark African free trade agreement during the upcoming African Union meeting in Niger, his office said. 

“Nigeria will sign the #AfCFTA Agreement at the upcoming Extraordinary Summit of the African Union in Niamey, Niger,” the presidency said in a Tweet late Tuesday. 

African leaders are meeting in Niamey this weekend. 

Nigeria had been a key backer of the plan to progressively reduce trade barriers on the continent since talks on the African Continental Free Trade Area got underway in 2002.

However, it abruptly changed course shortly before the deal was signed last year following pressure from local unions and businesses fearful that they would be uncompetitive if trade barriers are dropped.

Your Friends Also Read:  South Africa's Pilots' Association Head to Court

Last week, a special government panel formed to study the potential impact of joining AfCFTA, recommended that Buhari sign Nigeria up.

The trade deal “provides immense opportunities for Nigeria’s manufacturing and service companies to expand to Africa,” the panel’s chair, Desmond Guobadia, said in a statement after submitting its report.

AfCFTA formally came into force at the end of May, after the required minimum of 22 countries ratified the ambitious plan to boost intra-African trade, which has long suffered by high tariffs.

It hopes the progressive elimination of tariffs will help boost regional trade by 60 percent within three years. At present, only 16 percent of trade by African nations is with continental neighbours.

Your Friends Also Read:  ISWAP Storms Boko Haram Enclave, Kills Six

Nigeria is one of only three of the AU’s 55 member states to not have signed up to AfCFTA, with other African economic heavyweights such as Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, and South Africa having ratified the pact.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng


Leave a Reply

Previous Article
airstrike on Libya migrant centre kills 40

Airstrike on migrant centre kills almost 40 in Libya

Next Article
South Africa’s Afrimat withdraws takeover bid for Universal Coal

South Africa’s Afrimat withdraws takeover bid for Universal Coal

Related Posts