Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen Gets FIFA Best Player Award Nomination

Osimhen Gets FIFA Best Player Award Nomination (News Central TV)

Super Eagles and Napoli striker Victor Osimhen has earned a coveted nomination alongside football legends Lionel Messi and Erling Haaland for the prestigious FIFA Best Player Award. At the age of 24, Osimhen, who recently received a nod for the esteemed Ballon d’Or award, stands as the sole African representative in this distinguished lineup. This marks a significant milestone in Nigerian football history, as it has been a considerable stretch of time since a Nigerian player last clinched a FIFA award nomination.

Osimhen’s journey to this FIFA Best Player nomination is remarkable, coming on the heels of his Ballon d’Or nomination, which broke a 24-year drought for Nigerian players on the international football scene. However, unlike her Ballon d’Or nomination, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala finds herself not among the nominees in the women’s category, missing another opportunity to solidify Nigeria’s presence on the global stage.

Osimhen’s recent accomplishments are a testament to his incredible skills. His contributions to Napoli, where he led the team to their first Serie A title in 34 years while securing the Golden Boot with 26 goals, have been nothing short of astonishing.

Osimhen Gets FIFA Best Player Award Nomination (News Central TV)
Super Eagles and Napoli striker Victor Osimhen

However, Osimhen’s excellence extends beyond club football; he has also made significant contributions to the Super Eagles on the international stage. During the recent AFCON qualifiers, he emerged as the top scorer, netting an impressive total of 10 goals in just six games.

During the summer transfer window, Osimhen garnered attention from some of Europe’s top clubs, with PSG, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, and Chelsea all vying for his signature. Osimhen was even linked to big-money moves to Saudi Arabian clubs. Napoli ultimately chose to retain their star player, denying other clubs the opportunity to secure his services.

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the FIFA Best Player Award features a star-studded cast, including Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Declan Rice, Erling Haaland, and Rodrigo from Manchester City, among others. Regrettably, the list also highlights the absence of some notable names, with Cristiano Ronaldo, the Portuguese striker for Al Nassr, notably missing out for the second consecutive year. There was also no room for Arsenal players, despite their incredible season, bar Declan Rice, who recently joined the Gunners after a successful season with West Ham.

FIFA Best Player Nominees (Men’s Category)

Julián Álvarez (Argentina); Marcelo Brozović (Croatia); Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium); İlkay Gündoğan (Germany); Erling Haaland (Norway); Rodri (Spain); Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Georgia); Kylian Mbappé (France); Lionel Messi (Argentina); Victor Osimhen (Nigeria); Declan Rice (England); Bernardo Silva (Portugal).

FIFA Best Player Nominees (Women’s Category)

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain); Linda Caicedo (Colombia); Rachel Daly (England); Kadidiatou Diani (France); Caitlin Foord (Australia); Mary Fowler (Australia); Alex Greenwood (England); Jennifer Hermoso (Spain); Lindsey Horan (USA); Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden); Lauren James (England); Sam Kerr (Australia); Mapi León (Spain); Hinata Miyazawa (Japan); Salma Paralluelo (Spain); Keira Walsh (England).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Nominees

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden): Jonatan Giráldez (Spain); Tony Gustavsson (Sweden); Emma Hayes (England); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands).

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Nominees

Pep Guardiola (Spain); Simone Inzaghi (Italy); Ange Postecoglou (Australia); Luciano Spalletti (Italy); Xavi (Spain).

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper Nominees

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia); Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany); Catalina Coll (Spain); Mary Earps (England); Christiane Endler (Chile); Zećira Mušović (Sweden); Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain).

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper Nominees

Yassine Bounou (Morocco); Thibaut Courtois (Belgium); Ederson (Brazil); André Onana (Cameroon); Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany).

The FIFA Fan Award Nominees

Club Atlético Colón de Santa Fe fan (Argentina); Fran Hurndall (England); Miguel Ángel, Millonarios fan (Colombia).

The winners of these individual awards will be determined through a voting process involving four groups: fans, national team managers, national team captains, and media representatives. The evaluation period for the men’s awards spans from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023.


Leave a Reply

Related Posts