Ruling APC Governors Recommend 5 Presidential Aspirants to President Buhari

After several deliberations and horsetrading, Governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have submitted the names of five presidential aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari to select a consensus candidate from.

The Governors submitted the names in the early hours of Tuesday. The list included Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti State), and Governor Dave Umahi (Ebonyi State).

The governors had after meeting with the President said they will return to the villa after meeting with the party’s National Working Committee(NWC), aspirants and other stakeholders.

A source confirmed that, “They picked one from South-East, one from South-South and three from South-West geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the South.”

Your Friends Also Read:  South Africa Grants Authorisation for Sanctioned Russian Superyacht

He said the president is expected to pick from the list. The presidential primary of the party holds today. The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan was named as the consensus candidate by the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu. This was, however, punctured by the presidency. 

Expect updates as events unfold from Eagle Square, Abuja, venue of the convention.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article
Mali Junta Decrees Two-Year Delay Before Democracy (News Central TV)

Mali Junta Decrees Two-Year Delay Before Civilian Rule

Next Article
Kenyan Army Recovers Over 200 Guns Ammunition During Operation (News Central TV)

Kenyan Army Recovers Over 200 Illegal Guns During Operation

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App