Senator Zargo, Ten Others Boycott President Weah’s SONA

Senator Zargo , Ten Others Boycott President Weah’s SONA (News Central TV)

Lofa County Senator Stephen Zargo Monday led ten other Senators in boycott of the State of the Nation Address (SONA) of President George Manneh Weah

The Senators include Abraham Darius Dillon, Grand Cape Mount County Senator Varney Sherman among others, who were absent from President George Weah’s 5th Annual Message to the Legislature.

Some lawmakers have suggested that their absence was due to their health condition. Senator Gble-gbo Brown of Maryland County has been ill in recent days and could not attend the event.

Sherman said he could not attend due to illness which resulted from a tour he recently made in Grand Cape Mount County.

Senator Sherman explained that, “I am not well from a tour of the Commonwealth District (Robertsport City, Tombe District and Tallah Township) in Cape Mount this past weekend.

“I returned to Monrovia midnight last night; and I was too tired and sick this morning to attend the SONA this afternoon. I informed the Senate and asked for excuse. He however added that he was following the address, virtually.  

Senator Zargo of Lofa County was intentionally absent, he said, his decision was agreed by members of the Lofa legislative caucus as protest to the situation involving Brownie Samukai.

Samukai who was declared winner of the senatorial by-election in Lofa on December 8, 2020, is yet to be cleared by the National Elections Commission (NEC) since the ruling was upheld by the High Court.

“The Lofa County Legislative Caucus made her decision on this considering the visit of the Caucus along with the former VP JNB during the festive season. During said visit, the Lofa people cried on us to take affirmative action, hence the boycott,” Senator Zargo said.

However, Representative Clarence Massaquoi who is also a member of the Lofa County Legislative Caucus was present at the event.

Senators including Darius Dillon of Montserrado County, Jonathan  Boycharles Sogbie , Marshall Dennis of Grand Gedeh County, Prince Johnson of Nimba County, and Conmany Wesseh of  Rivergee Gee County were absent, but gave no reasons.


Leave a Reply

Related Posts