South Africa Restores Free Visa for Some Countries

South Africa has reinstated free visas for travelers from some selected countries. This was earlier suspending in March as part of a strict lockdown to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

Visas will again be available to visitors from France, Germany, Portugal, Spain, Italy, South Korea, Hong Kong, Iran and the U.S., according to a statement from the Ministry of Home Affairs on Sunday.

However, international travelers will need to present a negative Covid-19 test result that’s no more than 72 hours old or face a mandatory 10-day quarantine, according to the government.

The exemptions, coming just days after the reopening of borders to travelers from other African nations, this represents another easing of the lockdown in a bid to reboot economic growth hindered by the pandemic. Coronavirus infections continue to decline in South Africa even as the economy reopens.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.


Exit mobile version