Tanzania’s President Magufuli Reappoints Kassim Majaliwa As Prime Minister

Tanzania’s President John Magufuli has reappointed his Prime Minister Kassim Majaliwa for a second term.

The parliamentary speaker read the letter making the appointment on Thursday ahead of parliamentary approval.

59-year-old Majaliwa has been the East African country’s PM since 2015. In last week election, the PM sailed unopposed, retaining the Ruangwa legislative seat for his third term, having been elected for the first time in 2010.

Two days ago, Magufuli had disclosed he had no plans of reshuffling his cabinet, insisting that Regional and District Commissioners as well as executives in public offices were under no threat.

He was speaking at the swearing-in ceremony for Attorney General (AG) Professor Adelardus Kilangi at Chamwino State House in the Capital City Dodoma, on Monday.

Your Friends Also Read:  Nigeria orders shutdown of opposition party-linked private TV, radio

The President said he had learnt of the rising tension among his appointees over possible changes in the government following the recently-concluded 2020 General Election.

Allaying such fears, Dr Magufuli vowed not to shake-up his government after a splendid performance that largely paved the way for his CCM party’s landslide victory in the October 28th polls.

“I wonder why they should be worried while they are part of achievements attained during my first tenure, including election victory,” the Head of State affirmed.

Dr Magufuli, however, warned that he would not hesitate to replace any appointee if they underperformed, or in case of retirees and resignations.

Your Friends Also Read:  Dabire named new PM by Burkinabe president

President Magufuli said changes would only be made in ministerial posts following the general election in which some Members of Parliament have stumbled in their reelection bid while new faces have surfaced.

“I cannot hide about it, there will be changes in ministerial posts in wake of the general election, and the fact I have wider choices because of the number of CCM MPs elected,” he said.

In last week’s election for parliament, CCM won 256 constituency seats out of 264.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.
Your Friends Also Read:  Nigeria's Electoral Commission Begins Voter Registration In Q1 2021

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng


Leave a Reply

Related Posts