15 African Countries Restricted from U.S. Travel as Trump Imposes New Rules

President of the United States of America, Donald Trump, has introduced a new temporary travel rule which requires citizens of 15 African countries visiting the US to post bonds of up to $15,000.

The African countries affected are Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde, Burundi.

The new rule is expected to take effect from December 24, 2020.

The six-month pilot program – which targets visitor and business visas – will act as a deterrence to those who overstay their visas, the U.S. state department said.

Your Friends Also Read:  US Removes All Visa Reciprocity Fees For Nigerians

Outgoing President Donald Trump, who lost a re-election bid earlier in November, made restricting immigration a central part of his four-year term in office.

President-elect Joe Biden, a Democrat, has however pledged to reverse many of the Republican president’s immigration policies, but untangling hundreds of changes could take months or years.

The visa bond rule targets countries whose nationals had an “overstay rate” of 10% or higher in 2019 and will now be required to pay a refundable bond of $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000.

While those nations had higher rates of overstays, they sent relatively few travellers to the U.S.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.
Your Friends Also Read:  'State of terror' reigns in Khartoum, residents fear for post-massacre tensions

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng


Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Nigeria Records 56 New Infections, Discharges 165 Patients

Next Article

Tunisia's Jerandi To Chair IOF Session

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App