Trump to expand travel ban to seven countries

United States President, Donald Trump has confirmed plans to expand a travel ban that bars citizens of certain countries from entering the United States adding seven countries to a group of countries subject to travel restrictions, including Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, alongside others on the continent and Asia.

The new restrictions will apply to travelers and immigrants from Belarus, Eritrea, Krygrzstan, Myanmar,Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.

The ban is one of the most controversial undertakings by the Trump administration, having received backlash from some leaders in the U.S. as well as foreign leaders.

The Supreme Court in a 5-4 ruling in 2018, upheld a version of the ban that blocked nationals from five Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States. The ban applies to people from Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia and Yemen.

Your Friends Also Read:  Safaricom, Vodacom to acquire $13 million M-Pesa purchase rights

The ban upheld by the high court was a watered down version of the original White House proposal, which barred people from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia and Sudan from coming to the United States for 90 days and banned all refugees for 120 days.

Trump'[s presence at the 2020 Davos comes just a few days before the U.S. senate begins his impeachment trial.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.
Your Friends Also Read:  Air Namibia Survives Liquidation after Settlement with ChallengeAir SA



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Cameroon forces rescue 24 abducted school children held hostage by separatists

Next Article

Nigeria outlines new visa, immigration policy for foreigners

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App