UK Government Takes Nigeria, 10 Others Off Red List

The UK government has removed Nigeria and 10 other countries from its red list.

The 10 other countries that were initially placed on the list include Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The red list was reintroduced in late November as a precaution after the emergence of the Omicron variant.

But ministers have cited the further spread of the variant as a reason for reviewing travel rules.

Currently, all UK arrivals from red list countries must pay for and self-isolate in a pre-booked, government-approved hotel for 10 days.

They must also take COVID tests within 48 hours of setting off for the UK and PCR tests within two days of their arrival.

Your Friends Also Read:  Electricity Employees Shut Down TCN Station in Nigeria's Northwest 

On Tuesday, the UK government confirmed it is scrapping the red list for international travel from 4 am Wednesday, December 15.

The Secretary of Health, Sajid Javid, in the House of Commons on Tuesday announced the decision.

The move comes in response to the rapid global spread of the omicron coronavirus variant.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article
Doctors Without Borders Stops Work in South-West Cameroon over Detained Staff

Breaking: 11 African Countries Taken off UK’s Omicron Red List

Next Article

89 People Killed by Mystery Disease in South Sudan- WHO

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App