Western Kenya Elders Back Odinga as Five MPs Declare Support

Western Kenya Elders Back Odinga as Five MPs Declare Support (News Central TV)

Elders from various communities in Western Kenya have thrown their weight behind ODM leader Raila Odinga’s Azimio La Umoja II and his quest for the presidency in the August 2022 election.

The much-awaited Azimio la Umoja campaign rally convened by the Central Organisation of Trade Unions (Cotu) Secretary General Francis Atwoli at Bukhungu stadium residents in large numbers– in attendance.

The declaration was read out on Friday, during the Bukhungu Stadium convention attended by dozens of leaders from across the country.

Several Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and other government officials were at the convention.

Lugari MP Ayub Savula

In a statement read out by Peter Ludama, they said “We the elders of the Western region, noting that the country is geared towards a political transition, we, therefore, resolve and direct that the region shall be part of the Azimio La Umoja under the leadership of Raila Odinga.”

During the meeting, Several MPs and MCAs ditched Ford Kenya and Amani National Congress (ANC) party for Odinga’s ODM, vowing to support his presidential bid.

Lugari MP Ayub Savula was among the leaders who vowed to support Odinga’s Azimio La Umoja after ditching the One Kenya Alliance (OKA).

Savula said he will, however, seek the Kakamega gubernatorial dear on Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC).

“I have moved from today to Raila’s Azimio La Umoja,” he said during Friday’s Bukhungu stadium convention, “I am now supporting Raila for President.”

Savula described the OKA that is yet to make a presidential candidate as “useless.”

Savula has been a vocal supporter of Mudavadi who hopes to be the fifth president after next year’s election and his defection is seen as a big blow to the ANC leader.

Amani National Congress Deputy leader Ayub Savula was the big catch for Odinga, after he announced his exit from the One Kenya Alliance.

Others who defected include Teso North MP, Oku Kaunya, the nominated MP Godfrey Osotsi among others.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng

Exit mobile version