APC’s Muhammadu Buhari wins re-election in Nigeria

Buhari won in 19 states — including the two most populous, Lagos and Kano
People stand beside a billboard of All Progressives Congress (APC) President Muhammadu Buhari after his re-election in Abuja, Nigeria on February 26, 2019. – Nigeria’s electoral commission has declared incumbent Muhammadu Buhari the winner of the country’s presidential elections. It was announced in the early hours of Wednesday. The 76-year-old has won a second four-year term as President of Nigeria. (Photo by KOLA SULAIMON / AFP)

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress, APC has been re-elected and formally declared winner of the 2019 presidential election by the Independent National Election Commission (INEC).

INEC Chairman Professor Mahmood Yakubu made the declaration on Wednesday in Abuja after the end of collation of all presidential results.

Buhari of the APC polled a total of 15,191,847 votes against the 11,262,978 votes polled by candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Atiku Abubakar from the results collated from the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

Supporters of Buhari’s All Progressives Congress (APC) gathered at his campaign headquarters in the capital, Abuja, to celebrate even before the final results were announced.

Some sang “We’re popping champagne!” while Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo was seen in a video clip singing “Up we go!” in a reference to Buhari and his “Next Level” campaign slogan.

Your Friends Also Read:  Egypt Intercepts Ancient Coin Smugglers at Cairo Airport

Buhari’s spokesman, Garba Shehu, posted a photograph of the president on Twitter, watching the results on television. “#BuhariHasWon,” he wrote.

But there were none of the spontaneous street parties that marked his victory four years ago, when he became Nigeria’s first opposition candidate to beat an incumbent president.

To win the presidency in Nigeria, a candidate needs a majority of votes nationwide and at least 25 percent of support in two-thirds of Nigeria’s 36 states and the FCT (Federal Capital Territory).

Initial results showed Buhari won 15,191,847 votes or 56 percent of the vote while Abubakar, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 11,262,978 votes or 41 percent.

Your Friends Also Read:  Over 8,000 Cameroonian refugees flood Nigeria as military tackles separatists - UNHCR

Buhari won in 19 states — including the two most populous, Lagos and Kano — while Abubakar was victorious in 17 states and the FCT.

In 2015, president Goodluck Jonathan won plaudits for conceding to Buhari in a phone call, as the results indicated he could not win.

“Nobody’s ambition is worth the blood of any Nigerian. The unity, stability and progress of our dear country is more important than anything else,” he said at the time.

Previous elections have been marked by political violence, including in 2011, when more than 800 people were killed.

There was no immediate official concession from Abubakar, whose party earlier Tuesday called on the electoral commission to halt the count, citing irregularities.

Your Friends Also Read:  President Buhari to Unveil New NNPC in July

The election, which was delayed just before polls were due to open on February 16. The electoral commission cited logistical difficulties in delivering ballot materials.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng


Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Exiled Chagos Islanders cautiously celebrate UN verdict

Next Article

Remote South African restaurant gets top global award

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App