DR Congo Opens Consulate in Morocco’s Southern Province

The Democratic Republic of Congo on Saturday inaugurated its consulate general in Dakhla, a Morocco’s southern province.

Nasser Bourita, Morocco’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, travelled to Western Sahara to open the new consulate general with his Congolese counterpart, Marie Tumba Nzeza, also in attendance.

On Monday, Bourita inaugurated Bahrain’s consulate in Dakhla. On Friday, the Moroccan FM again travelled south for another ribbon-cutting ceremony in the form of a new AU office in the region.

The new Congolese consulate joins 18 already established consulates in Western Sahara.

Dakhla now hosts diplomatic missions of Gambia, Guinea, Djibouti, Liberia, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Burkina Faso and Haiti.

Your Friends Also Read:  Nigerian court orders release of opposition critic, Sowore

In addition, the region’s capital Laayoune is home to the consulates of the Comoros, Gabon, the Central African Republic, Sao Tome, Ivory Coast, Burundi, the UAE, Eswatini, Zambia and the newly inaugurated mission of Bahrain.

The recent US recognition of Moroccan sovereignty over Western Sahara grabbed headlines across the world, yet the diplomatic efforts by Morocco in Africa could prove even more significant.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.
Your Friends Also Read:  Prison chief sacked after Zefzafi complains of torture in Moroccan prison

Contact: digital@newscentral.ng


Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Kenya Airways, Air France-KLM end Africa-Europe Joint Venture Cooperation

Next Article

Salah, Mane Score as Liverpool Beat Palace 7-0

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App