Star FM Music Awards announce 2020 nominees

Rapper Ti Gonzi leads with five nominations.

The organisers of Star FM Music Awards, one of Zimbabwe’s most prestigious music awards, have announced the nominees for the 2020 edition set to hold on Saturday, February 22.

Running under the theme “Music in Colour,” the award show is set to honour Zimbabwean musicians across genres at the Manna Resort in Glen Lorne, Harare.

Speaking about the event, the general manager of the broadcasting division of Zimpapers radio says, “Our aim is to recognise the artistes who have done well in the period under adjudication and we need a fitting venue to do so, which is why we have settled on Manna Resort.”

Some of the leading nominees include TiGonzi, Mambo Dhuterere, Tamy Moyo and Novuyo Seagirl.

Your Friends Also Read:  How South African teens are using radio to fight gun-related crimes

Check out the full list of nominees below

Best African Pop Song Award
‘Kure’ – Ishan ft. Ti Gonzi
‘Kwandinobva’ – Tamy Moyo
‘Zviroto’ – Tamy Moyo
‘African Woman’ – Fusion 5 Mangwiro

Best Zimdancehall Song Award
‘Vroom’ – Nutty O
‘Bodo’ – Bazooka
‘Reurura’ – Seh Calaz ft. Mambo Dhuterere

Best Hip Hop Song Award
‘Mabazooka’ – Ti Gonzi
‘Noise’ – Takura
‘Loud’ – Junior Brown
‘5 PM’ – P. D. Ghost ft. Gze

Best R&B Song Award
‘TV Room’ – Hilzy, Gary Mapanzure
‘Love Love’ – Brian Nhira
‘Die in Your Arms’ – Nyasha David ft. Prosper
‘Mai Vevana’ – Brian K

Best House Song Award
‘Bambelela’ – Novuyo Sea Girl
‘Lavida Loca’ – Lloyd Soul
‘Bad News’ – DJ Stavo ft. Gemma
‘Vuka’ – Sam Music

Your Friends Also Read:  Chimamanda Adichie named ThisDay's Woman of the Decade

Best Song by Zimbabwean in the Diaspora Award
‘Love Love’ – Brian Nhira
‘Chihera’ – Norman Masamba
‘Kurunga’ – Vimbai Zimuto
‘I’m In Love’ – Nox Guni

Best Gospel Song Award
‘Ndimi’ – Janet Manyowa
‘Ngoro Yeminana’ – Joyful Praise
‘Ndozvinoita Nyasha’ – Jonah Chivasa
‘Reurura’ – Seh Calaz ft. Mambo Dhuterere

Best Newcomer Award
Ishan ft. Ti Gonz – ‘Kure’
Mambo Dhuterere – ‘Mweya’
Fusion Five Mangwiro – ‘African Woman’
Joyful Praise – ‘Ngoro Yeminana’

Best Female Artist Award
Tamy Moyo
Janet Manyowa
Ammara Brown
Novuyo Sea Girl

Best Male Artist Award
Mambo Dhuterere
Ti Gonzi

Best Duo/Group Award
Fusion 5 Mangwiro – ‘African Woman’
Fusion 5 Mangwiro – ‘Katarina’
Ngoma Ingoma – ‘Malobolo’
Joyful Praise – ‘Ngoro Yeminana’

Your Friends Also Read:  Meet Nigerian-American Who Says He’s A “Father Figure” To Rappers

Best Collaboration Award
‘Kure’ – Ishan ft. Ti Gonzi
‘Ngaibake’ – Freeman ft. Alick Macheso
‘Reurura’ – Seh Calaz ft. Mambo Dhuterere
‘TV Room’ – Hilzy ft. Gary Mapanzure

Best Producer Award
DJ Tamuka
Rodney Beats

Song of the Year Award
‘Kure’ – ‘Ishan ft. Ti Gonzi
‘Ngaibake’ – Freeman ft. Alick Macheso
‘Vroom’ – Nutty O
‘Noise’ – Takura

Album of the Year Award
Gango – Freeman
Season 2 – Joyful Praise
Francesca – King 98
The Peeps Rapper – Asaph

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from News Central TV.



Leave a Reply

Previous Article

Salah scores twice as Liverpool go 22 points clear

Next Article

Lagos Theatre Festival 2020 To open February 27

Related Posts
Powered by Live Score & Live Score App